Department of Water Resources Home

Flood Management

Community Rating System

CRS : Community Rating System - Homepage


The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) is administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), which offers federally backed flood insurance to communities that enact and enforce minimum floodplain management regulations. The NFIP offers flood insurance to communities that participate in the program through the adoption of a floodplain management ordinance that regulates development in high flood risk areas. To purchase flood insurance, a property must be located in a community that participates in the program. The NFIP’s Community Rating System (CRS) recognizes communities that exceed the minimum floodplain management regulations by reducing flood insurance premiums for the community’s property owners. Under the CRS program, flood insurance discounts range from 5% to 45% depending on the credit points earned.

In California, the Department of Water Resources is working to bring more communities into the CRS program and to improve the standing of communities in the program. This website is designed to provide CRS program information and Department of Water Resources Technical Support on CRS.


CRS Program Information

CRS Technical Support for Local Officials

If you have technical questions on the CRS program, contact Dave Arkens.

For questions on this website or the California Department of Water Resource’s CRS program, please contact Jim Eto or Ricardo S. Pineda.