Department of Water Resources Home

About DWR - Integrated Water Management

Gary Bardini, Deputy Director

  • Maintain four strategically located offices that provide technical guidance and assistance to local and regional organizations with water resource planning and engineering; surface and groundwater monitoring and studies; environmental analysis and restoration; land use surveying and mapping; drought, water conservation, and water master activities; resolution of interstate water conflicts; floodplain management activities, and emergency response actions. The Regional Offices also collect and analyze regional water resources data in support of many DWR programs.

Northern Region consists of the following 12 counties: Del Norte, Siskiyou, Modoc, Humboldt, Trinity, Shasta, Lassen, Tehama, Plumas, Butte, Glenn, Colusa, portions of Medocino, Lake, Yolo, and Sierra. Hydrologic Regions include North Coast, North Lahontan, and Sacramento River.

North Central Region in West Sacramento includes all or portions of 27 counties: Mendocino, Lake, Sonoma, Napa, Yolo, Sutter, Yuba, Nevada, Sierra, Placer, El Dorado, Alpine, Mono, Tuolumne, Calaveras, Stanislaus, Amador, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Solano, Contra Costa, Alameda, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Francisco, Plumas, and Marin.

South Central Region in Fresno includes 12 counties: Santa Cruz, Monterey, San Luis Obispo, San Benito, Stanislaus, Merced, Mariposa, Madera, Fresno, Tulare, Kings, and a portion of Kern.

Southern Region in Glendale consists of 11 counties which include: Santa Barbara, Ventura, Los Angeles, Orange, San Diego, Imperial, Riverside, San Bernardino, Inyo, and portions of Kern and Mono.